Celebrating the Liturgical Year: St. Patrick’s Day edition

Standard

DSC01318

My husband and I were recently inspired to more fully celebrate the liturgical year by the delightful Haley and her family at Carrots for Michaelmas. Check out her post about the beautiful gift the Church offers us in the Christian Year.

As Saint Patrick’s Day quickly approaches, I decided to hit the local library for some cookbooks of traditional Irish meals to honor this great saint. This is the book that looked the easiest to follow (famous last words) and had the most delicious pictures.

51MKAYHNT0L

I have to admit we are rather looking forward to breaking our Lenten fasts and really celebrating. The only hitch is that Zac is more of the cook in this humble home. But I’m putting on my fancy apron and taking the lead with this one. I’d love to be one of those women who effortlessly prepare gorgeous, scrumptious feasts- more like my beautiful mother. But alas, most nights it’s less of “I just whipped up this fantastic meal, darling” and more of “Crap I totally forgot to thaw a meat, couscous?”

But this St. Patty’s day is going to be different, at least in theory (we’re gonna pray about it). Here’s the plan:

 

The Boda’s St. Patrick’s Day Feast Menu

Bacon Salad with farmhouse cheese dressing

Irish Soda Bread

Corned Beef with dumplings and cabbage

 Bread and butter pudding with whiskey sauce with Gaelic Coffee

On tap: Guinness, of course, and probably Killians

We’ll keep you posted on this venture!

One thought on “Celebrating the Liturgical Year: St. Patrick’s Day edition

Leave a comment